Hey relized it was a post…

March 28, 2006 at 9:45 am 6 comments

This was a reply to a question Jason. 

Is Christianity a religion?

I didnt consectated my self to JC. My real name means consecrated to him…I was born with the name not the chose ;) so I am not hitting the specifics.

but I wonder if you all believe that Christianity is a religion, and why?

Does it have to be that way?

Is religion real and super natural or built on rituals to obtain a final accomplishment by our own pride and self worth?

What do you believe when the word comes to mind?

are you a religious person?

Can religion “save” you Christianese word meaning resued from damnation fire and brimstone.

Some say ‘religion is dead’ I tend to agree.

You wanted my opinion on something so there it is. Dont ask gabi with an “i” where i stand.

All questions should be directed to me.

I’m waiting for someone to prove me wrong.

Conse

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Hey relized it was a post… If you are going to read my post you may have to get use to something…

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. jason  |  March 29, 2006 at 9:38 pm

    well, first, don’t hold your breath. i don’t think you can ‘prove’ or ‘un-prove’ such matters, although i do believe in truth, and absolute truth at that.

    according to dictionary.com, religion is:

    1. Belief in and reverence for a supernatural power or powers regarded as creator and governor of the universe.
    2. A personal or institutionalized system grounded in such belief and worship.

    yep, that about says it. christianity qualifies as a religion. now, gabi and many of my evangelical peers would say that christianity is about a relationship, not a religion. i say that that’s also true. the problem with the word ‘religion’ is that it is often lumped in with meaningless rituals and meaningless lives being lived (or not lived) in such a way as to prop up a dead animal, a dead corpse known as a certain institution. your so-called ‘dead religion.’ i will give that concession, consecrated.

    but Jesus – who i utterly believe in and follow – established this idea of having many followers following him as a corporal body (“eat my flesh, drink my blood”). this body (which the St. Paul identified as the Body of Christ, Jesus identified as his Bride, and St. Peter identified as a building built on Jesus’ cornerstone) would be part of this present AND transcendent Kingdom of Heaven.

    i believe that religion must be focused on Jesus himself (the man/God) to be real and meaningful. much of practiced religion (especially in the oppulant West) is focused on the here and now, or the pie in the sky, or whatever. but it ignores its head.

    and if the body centers around the headship of Jesus, then it’ll follow his lead and heal itself (i honestly believe that most of the unhealthy stuff we see in organized religion is a european/US thing.). from the letter of James: and this is true religion, of which there is no fault, caring for widows and orphans.

    jennie is right, i can be verbose, w/o actually saying much. congratulations on drawing me in, though.

    ball’s in your court.

  • 2. Jennie  |  March 30, 2006 at 8:20 am

    James 1:27:
    “Pure and undefiled religion in the sight of our God and Father is this: to visit orphans and widows in their distress, and to keep oneself unstained by the world.”
    Amen.

    So, yeah – what he said.

    Now, when he can say it concisely, then he will have earned his title.

    Ain’t that right, Mr. Dye? 😉

  • 3. jason  |  March 30, 2006 at 7:20 pm

    ok, i got on another roll…

    sue me.

  • 4. Jennie  |  March 30, 2006 at 9:17 pm

    Ooh, I think I hit a nerve.

    Fun! Let’s do it again! 😀

  • 5. jason  |  April 6, 2006 at 11:07 pm

    ummm… this is the point when YOU say something, consecjc

  • 6. Cee  |  April 16, 2006 at 11:04 pm

    I’ll give a short(er) answer. I agree with you that religion is dead and it should have never been alive in the first place. However, there are many minds who are still stuck in the realm of tradtional, conventional religion, though they claim because they’re not in such an institution, they’re not ‘religious’.

    It doesn’t matter what building, organization or grouping you belong to, a “conventional” religious mind is one that keeps themselves AND God in a box. And I think that’s the biggest insult in the wooorld to God. Why even attempt to define the infinite and then build a doctrine around it?

    This is why i don’t like religious labels or titles. Honestly, I don’t even like that I’m considered ‘messianic jewish’…cuz I’m not one to follow any religion 100%. I’m a bit (A LOT) of a heretic when it comes to religion. And if I were to spill my *spiritual* views to people, chances are I’d be locked up or disowned by a bunch of folks. Or banned from all churches and synagogues worldwide. lol.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

March 2006
M T W T F S S
     
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Recent Posts


